Photo Walks –August 18 and 19, 2014

These photos were taken a mile from my house at Blackburn Park.  As has been the case for the past several posts, these photos were all taken with a Sigma 105mm macro lens.

Below is a Japanese beetle. I had often hear of them but the first time I ever saw one was two summers ago on vacation in South Haven, Michigan.  There was a bush about chest high covered with hundreds Japanese beetles.  It appeared that a very large number of them were mating but the weird thing was that sometimes they were stacked up on one another 3 and 4 high or were hanging upside down 3 or 4 deep.

This is a small milkweed bug. Small is part of the bugs’ name as there is another species called the large milkweed bug. The small is about 1/2″ while the large is about 3/4″. The easiest way to tell them apart is the small has a red/orange X on its back while the large has a thick, black horizontal bar across its back.

 

If an animal is going to stare at me I’ve just got to take its picture. I’ll make an exception for most predators. What really caught my eye for this photo was the light. It looks like I used flash but it is all natural light coming in from behind the squirrel.

 

I think this is a small sunflower bud starting to unfold.  If you think differently you could be right ‘casue I don’t really know this stuff; I just take pictures.

 

This is my first ever photo of a monarch butterfly.

 

This is my second ever post of a photo of a monarch butterfly. Not sure about those blue legs. It may be because I increased the photo’s color saturation to emphasize the wings.  It’s also possible that this is a very fashion forward butterfly and she managed to snag a pair of blue tights at lululemon.  If you search for these at lululemon.com type in “metallic blue flying tights, six-legged”.

 

Typical rabbit pose, very similar to a typical squirrel pose.  Hyper alert and ready to hop off at the slightest provocation.  I was tempted to yell wolf but I was afraid he would never believe me again.

 

This is a rose of Sharon bud.  Why this photo looks like a green and pink velvet collage I have no idea.  Kind of looks like a pink velvet tongue sticking out.  There have been mornings after where my tongue kind of felt like this looks.

 

Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog.

David

P.S. You can view my gallery at: http://dpbstl.weebly.com/

One thought on “Photo Walks –August 18 and 19, 2014

Comments are always welcome.

