Photo Walk – August 11 and 13, 2014

Similar to my last post, the photos below were taken on a Blackburn Park walk. However, I don’t think any were taken in the park; instead they were taken in yards along the route home.

I’m not sure what type of flower this.  It was on a very tall plant, six feet plus, with multiple blooms.  I think it is some sort of sunflower.

Just inchin’ along on a daisy.

 

Snug as a bug on a daisy.

 

As far as flowers go I don’t particularly care for begonias. They’re okay but for me they just don’t seem to stand out from the rest. I kind of think of them as backup singers. They can play a very useful role in the background of a garden or potted arrangements, but I’m not buying the ticket to see them. However, when they are just starting to bud or bloom I think they can be just as good as the headliner and offer some good photo opportunities. I tried to take advantage of that in the three photos below.

 

I think this is a lavender plant.

 

I’ll have more from my August 13th walk in my next post.

Thank you for stopping by and viewing my photos and reading my blog.

David

P.S. You can view my gallery at:  http://dpbstl.weebly.com/

 

3 thoughts on “Photo Walk – August 11 and 13, 2014

  1. Great photos. The inchworm is charming and the autumn colours in the bug picture all play so nicely. We have a tall wild sunflower blooming around here. The Helianthus maximiliani but I am not sure if it is the kind that people typically grow in gardens.

    Like

  2. Thank you for viewing and for your nice comments. I did a Google image search on Helianthus maximiliani and the common name (according to Wikipedia) Maximilian sunflower. Not poitive they are the same but they do look very similar.

    Like

Comments are always welcome.

