Photo Walks – First Week of August 2014

During August and September I took a lot of pictures; several hundred. Believe me, not all of them were keepers. I went on walks to, or drove to, various close by parks and conservation areas to take the pictures. I also made a couple of trips to the Missouri Botanical Garden for the same reason. All of the pictures were taken with the Sigma 105mm Macro and probably 90% or more were shot in macro mode.

For the next month or so I’ll be sharing some photos from those walks and trips.

Webster Groves’ Blackburn Park is one mile from my house and I walked there a couple of times a week in August and September for the exercise and to take pictures. The park has three large garden areas that provide opportunities for photographing plants and flowers and insects. On the walk back home I take a different route that takes me by two homes that have flower gardens that reach out the front edge of their yards. This gives me amble access to take pictures from the sidewalk for one house and from the street for the other.

The photos below were all taken during the first week of August.   Unless noted otherwise, comments refer to the photos below the comments. Not all the photos have comments.

This first picture, acorns and leaves, was taken August 1 on my way home from Blackburn Park. I mention the date because the acorns were on the walk the prior week also. It just seemed kind of early to me. I always associate a picture like this with the coming of fall, not the last week of July.

 

 

At first I thought this was a carpenter bee but after zooming in on my monitor I could see it’s a bumble bee. A carpenter bee’s abdomen is completely black and shiny smooth. A bumble bee has yellow and black hairs on its abdomen and often one or more hairy yellow bands around the abdomen.

For me, a bumble bee like this one, and carpenter bees, are the hardest to photograph. Not because of their flight movement, but because of the almost absolutely black abdomen. It’s like the abdomen creates a black hole and photos get sucked in never to return and reflect their light on the photo sensor. I have so many photos of bumble/carpenter bees where the abdomen is just a completely black area with no highlights or detail. In this one you can see the bee has abs. It’s a side view but looks like he might have an 8 pack.

 

 

I doubt anyone would ever cut the daisies below and bring them into the house and put them in a vase. At least I wouldn’t, but there is something about the photo that I like. Normally I can pretty easily explain what I like about a photo but not this one. That could mean it is not a good picture and I just don’t realize it yet. I often look at old pictures I’ve taken and sometimes will find one that I end up deleting wondering what ever made me think it was something worth saving. Usually if I save a picture that really is no good it’s because it’s the only photo I have of the subject or I went to a lot of trouble to get it and I subconsciously rationalize that it is a good picture.

 

 

This photo is a daisy on a broken stem with a small milkweed bug.  I like the photo, in part, because both the flower and the bug are pointed down.

 

 

I have gobs of honey bee pictures. This is one of my new favorites because of the colors and contrast, its three dimensional quality, and the way the bee’s antennae mix in with the flower stamens.

 

 

I also have gobs of bees in flight photos and this too is a new favorite. The honey bee in flight is okay but what I really like is that I got the little bug in the lower left in flight too.

 

 

Thank you for stopping by and viewing my photos and reading my blog.

David

P.S. You can view my gallery at:  http://dpbstl.weebly.com/

Comments are always welcome.

